What is the ruling if a player plays a ball from the wrong teeing area, is informed of the mistake, and then plays from the correct teeing area?

Prepare for the PGM Level 2 Facility Management Test. Utilize our flashcards and multiple-choice questions, with hints and explanations for each question. Gear up for success!

When a player plays a ball from the wrong teeing area and is subsequently informed of the mistake, the ruling is that the player must return to the correct teeing area to make their next stroke. At that point, playing a ball from the wrong teeing area incurs a penalty under the Rules of Golf. Specifically, there is a 2-stroke penalty applied in stroke play.

This penalty is established because the player failed to adhere to the proper regulations regarding the teeing area, which are essential for ensuring fair competition. The rules are clear that failure to start from the correct tee results in a punitive measure. Therefore, the correct ruling reflects the importance placed on maintaining the integrity of the game and following the designated playing order.

The application of the 2-stroke penalty reinforces the need for players to be diligent about their starting point and serves as a deterrent against not abiding by the established guidelines.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy