What is the ruling if a player inadvertently moves their ball while removing a rake in the bunker?

Prepare for the PGM Level 2 Facility Management Test. Utilize our flashcards and multiple-choice questions, with hints and explanations for each question. Gear up for success!

When a player inadvertently moves their ball while removing a rake from a bunker, the correct ruling is that the ball must be replaced in its original position. This understanding stems from the principle in golf that when a ball is inadvertently moved during a player's actions, it is often considered an unintentional event.

According to the Rules of Golf, players are allowed to remove movable obstructions, such as rakes in a bunker, and if this action causes the ball to move, the player is required to replace the ball without penalty. This ruling is designed to ensure that players are not punished for incidental actions that occur while they are attempting to maintain or restore the playing condition of the course.

This principle emphasizes that the game should accommodate natural interactions with the environment, allowing players to take necessary actions like clearing rakes without incurring penalties. Therefore, replacing the ball in its original position is both the logical and rule-based response in this situation.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy