Is a player considered to have made a stroke if they check their downswing before striking the ball?

Prepare for the PGM Level 2 Facility Management Test. Utilize our flashcards and multiple-choice questions, with hints and explanations for each question. Gear up for success!

In golf, a stroke is defined as the act of striking the ball with the club or any motion intended to strike the ball. When a player checks their downswing and does not complete the swing to make contact with the ball, it does not fulfill the criteria for a stroke. The key factor is that a stroke requires the club to make contact with the ball. If a player stops their swing before hitting the ball, they essentially prevent the act of making a stroke from occurring. Thus, the player is not considered to have made a stroke in this situation. This understanding aligns with the rules of golf and helps players recognize the importance of completing the full swing to count as a stroke.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy