In match play, if Player A asks Player B for the number of strokes taken and Player B initially says 3, then corrects it to 5 after Player A plays another stroke, what can Player A do?

Prepare for the PGM Level 2 Facility Management Test. Utilize our flashcards and multiple-choice questions, with hints and explanations for each question. Gear up for success!

In this scenario, the correct response for Player A is to claim the hole. This is based on the rules of match play golf. When a player in match play asks their opponent for clarification on the number of strokes taken, they are entitled to an accurate response. If Player B initially states that they have taken 3 strokes and then updates it to 5 after Player A has played their next stroke, Player A can claim the hole because the initial information was misleading.

The rules dictate that once the hole is underway and a player has made a shot based on incorrect information provided by their opponent, the player is within their rights to assert that they were misled. This emphasis on truthful declarations is critical to the integrity of the match. In such cases where accurate information is not provided, claiming the hole is the appropriate action to take.

Other options like accepting the new stroke count, calling for a review, or requesting a penalty do not address the fundamental issue of being misled about the opponent's stroke count prior to making a play. Therefore, claiming the hole is the most straightforward and justified action Player A can take in this circumstance.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy