If a player's ball comes to rest against a rake and rolls into an adjacent bunker when the rake is removed, what should the player do?

Prepare for the PGM Level 2 Facility Management Test. Utilize our flashcards and multiple-choice questions, with hints and explanations for each question. Gear up for success!

When a player's ball comes to rest against a rake and subsequently rolls into an adjacent bunker when the rake is removed, the player is entitled to replace the ball to its original position. This is because the removal of the rake directly influenced the movement of the ball. According to the rules of golf, a player is allowed to return their ball to its original spot if the movement of the ball is attributed to an external factor, in this case, the removal of the rake.

Replacing the ball in its original position is a way to ensure fairness in play as the ball’s movement was not due to the player’s actions but rather the interaction with the rake. Other options such as accepting a penalty, dropping the ball in the bunker, or playing from the bunker do not align with the rule that provides the option to place the ball back to its original resting position when influenced by an outside agency. This rule helps maintain the integrity of the game by allowing players to avoid penalties or unfavorable situations that they did not actively create.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy