If a player misses a 6-inch putt and quickly taps in the moving ball before it halts, what is the ruling?

Prepare for the PGM Level 2 Facility Management Test. Utilize our flashcards and multiple-choice questions, with hints and explanations for each question. Gear up for success!

In the scenario where a player misses a putt and then taps in the moving ball before it comes to a complete stop, the ruling falls under the rules of golf that govern ball striking. According to these rules, a player must not strike a ball while it is still in motion after a stroke. If they do so, it results in a penalty.

In this case, since the player tapped the ball while it was still moving, they would incur a penalty of two strokes. The rules are designed to ensure fairness and integrity in play, and this specific infraction directly impacts the outcome of the game. Thus, the correct answer reflects the understanding that there is a specific penalty associated with this type of action in golf.

It’s essential for players to be aware of the regulations surrounding their conduct and actions on the course to avoid such penalties. Understanding these rules helps players maintain the spirit and integrity of the game, as well as manage their scores accurately.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy