Does the player incur a penalty if her caddy accidentally removes and replaces her ball while removing a loose impediment from the fairway?

Prepare for the PGM Level 2 Facility Management Test. Utilize our flashcards and multiple-choice questions, with hints and explanations for each question. Gear up for success!

In this scenario, the player does indeed incur a penalty if her caddy accidentally removes and replaces her ball while trying to move a loose impediment. According to the Rules of Golf, each player is responsible for their ball and any actions taken with it. If a ball at rest is moved accidentally by a player’s caddy, it is considered a breach of the rules, resulting in a one-stroke penalty for the player.

The rationale for this rule is to ensure that players remain in control of their own ball, emphasizing the responsibility they hold in the game. The only exception is if the ball moves during the removal of a loose impediment, as the rules provide specific allowances for accidental movement under certain conditions, without penalty. However, in the case described, the caddy replacing the ball after moving it inherently carries a penalty.

Thus, under normal circumstances of interacting with balls on the course, a player is penalized for the actions of their caddy in this context. This reinforces the importance of proper protocol when handling a golf ball and further emphasizes that both players and their caddies must adhere to the established rules to avoid any infractions.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy