Does a practice swing that strikes the ball count as a stroke?

Prepare for the PGM Level 2 Facility Management Test. Utilize our flashcards and multiple-choice questions, with hints and explanations for each question. Gear up for success!

A practice swing that accidentally strikes the ball does not count as a stroke according to the rules of golf. This rule is in place to distinguish between actual strokes made during play and practice swings, which are intended for the player to get a feel for their upcoming shot. The intention behind a practice swing is to practice the motion without the expectation of hitting the ball, and the game's rules reflect this by not counting such incidents towards a player's score.

The application of this rule maintains the spirit of the game and ensures that players are not penalized for unintentional actions that occur outside of their controlled swings. This clear definition allows players to focus on improving their technique without the worry of incidental hits during practice swings.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy